The Railway (RANG) was named for its close proximity to the original Royal Arsenal Railway which ran approximately 100 metres from our engine shed.
The RANG team of volunteers at Crossness Engines Trust have embarked on the task of a new build narrow gauge railway completing the re-build of a small section of the original 1860 contractors railway laid by William Webster from Plumstead sidings to Crossness Point, this had been lifted and re-laid three times before finally disappearing in circa 1940.
Full restoration of Severn Lamb diesel locomotive BUSY BASIL renamed BAZALGETTE and two carriages are now complete and running.
Laying the new track. Work started on 28th December 2018 since then we have moved levelled and compacted over 160 tons of type 1 sub base and laid 480 meters of track consisting of 44 frames each weighing 420 lbs. each and 5 sets of points.
We have built 2 stations with run round loops.
We are landscaping the area surrounding the two stations and have started a vegetable garden next to the Southern station.
Our 2 foot gauge passenger line provides a unique arrival to our listed 1865 “Cathedral on the Marsh” a masterpiece of Victorian engineering The Crossness Pumping Station conceived by the visionary Sir Joseph Bazalgette which opened in 1865 finally clearing the deadly Cholera from London with the “First Sewer System.